News and Information

July 18, 2014

St. Joseph Medical Center Named Blue Distinction® Center for Cardiac Care

Hospital recognized for Cardiovascular Program

Tacoma - St. Joseph Medical Center, part of the Franciscan Health System, has received the Blue Distinction® Center for Cardiac Care from Premera Blue Cross. Blue Distinction Centers are hospitals shown to deliver quality specialty care based on objective, transparent measures for patient safety and health outcomes.

To receive a Blue Distinction Center for Cardiac Care ® designation, a hospital must demonstrate success in meeting both general quality and safety criteria (such as preventing hospital-acquired infections) and cardiac specific quality measures of cardiac surgical and non-surgical procedures (such as cardiac stent placement). St. Joseph Medical Center is proud to be recognized by Premera Blue Cross for meeting the rigorous selection Cardiac Care criteria set by the Blue Distinction Centers for Specialty Care program.

The Franciscan Heart Center, St. Joseph provides a full range of cardiac care services including inpatient cardiac critical care, cardiac rehabilitation, cardiac catheterization and cardiac surgery which includes traditional and minimally invasive heart valve replace and replacement as well as coronary artery bypass graft surgery.

St. Joseph Medical Center is also a Blue Distinction Center ® for Knee and Hip Replacement and Spine Surgery. To learn more about Franciscan’s cardiac services visit

Franciscan Health System includes St. Joseph Medical Center, Tacoma; St. Francis Hospital, Federal Way; St. Clare Hospital, Lakewood; St. Elizabeth Hospital, Enumclaw; St. Anthony Hospital, Gig Harbor; Highline Medical Center, Burien; Harrison Medical Center and Harrison HealthPartners, Kitsap and Olympic peninsulas; Regional Hospital, Tukwila; Franciscan Hospice House, University Place; Franciscan Medical Group clinics and providers, Pierce, King and Kitsap counties; and the Franciscan Foundation. Franciscan is part of Catholic Health Initiatives (CHI), a nonprofit, faith-based health system formed in 1996 through the consolidation of four Catholic health systems. One of the nation’s largest health systems, Englewood, Colo. –based CHI operates in 18 states and comprises 87 hospitals; 24 critical access facilities and other facilities that span the inpatient and outpatient continuum of care. In fiscal year 2013, CHI provided more than $762 million in charity care and community benefit, including services for the poor, free clinics, education and research.

Blue Distinction® Centers (BDC) met overall quality measures for patient safety and outcomes, developed with input from the medical community. Blue Distinction® Centers+ (BDC+) also met cost measures that address consumers’ need for affordable healthcare. Individual outcomes may vary. National criteria is displayed on A Local Blue Plan may require additional criteria for facilities located in its own service area. For details on Local Blue Plan Criteria, a provider’s in-network status, or your own policy’s coverage, contact your Local Blue Plan. Each hospital’s Cost Index is calculated with data from its Local Blue Plan. Hospitals in CA, ID, NY, PA, and WA may lie in two Local Blue Plans’ areas, resulting in two Cost Index figures; and their own Local Blue Plans decide whether one or both Cost Index figures must meet BDC+ national criteria. Neither Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association nor any Blue Plans are responsible for damages or non-covered charges resulting from Blue Distinction or other provider finder information or care received from Blue Distinction or other providers.

News Media Contact:

P: 253-382-3858