Awards and Distinctions

CHI Franciscan Health provides heart care that meets or exceeds the strictest national standards. You can feel confident that you’re receiving the highest quality heart and vascular care available, from top-rated board-certified physicians in the region.

3-Star ratings for Cardiac Surgeons

3 Star 150Cardiothoracic surgeons at CHI Franciscan Health, have consistently earned a place in the top tier of cardiothoracic surgeons for quality patient outcomes. The 3-star rating is the Society of Thoracic Surgeons’ (STS) highest rating and only awarded to a small percent of cardiothoracic surgery programs in the U.S.

In December 2015, Harrison Medical Center - Bremerton, earned two elite 3-star ratings for excellence in: 1) aortic valve replacement surgery and 2) coronary artery bypass graft (CABG) + aortic valve replacement surgery for January through June 2015.

During 2015, the STS awarded St. Joseph Medical Center in Tacoma two elite 3-Star ratings for excellence in coronary bypass surgery and isolated aortic valve replacement for 2014. In 2015, St. Joseph was also awarded a third 3-star rating for stage 1 lung cancer lobectomy for January 2012 through June 2015.

Also during 2015, the Society of Thoracic Surgeons (STS) awarded Harrison Medical Center - Bremerton a 3-star rating for isolated aortic valve replacement for July 1-December 31, 2014

Franciscan Cardiothoracic Surgery Associates, Tacoma

Cardiac surgery:
Craig Hampton, MD, FACS
Susan Hecker, MD, MPh
John Luber, MD, FACS, cardiac surgeon

Thoracic surgery:
Baiya Krishnadasan, MD FACS
Jason Tcheng, MD

Harrison HealthPartners, Bremerton

Cardiothoracic surgery:
Christopher King, MD, FACS
William Reed, MD

Cardiac Cath Lab accreditations announced

Three CHI Franciscan Health hospitals were accredited for cardiac catheterization and percutaneous coronary intervention (PCI) by the Accreditation for Cardiovascular Excellence (ACE). The cardiac cath labs are located at St. Anthony Hospital, St. Francis Hospital and St. Joseph Medical Center.

ACE accreditation means: we meet the highest standards for cardiac care, we only perform PCI procedures when appropriate and our post-procedure care meets nationally accepted standards. These CHI Franciscan hospitals are the first in Washington state to receive this recognition.

Cardiac catheterization is a minimally invasive diagnostic medical procedure often performed when a patient is suspected of having a heart attack caused by a blockage. Percutaneous coronary intervention (PCI) is a related procedure that uses a catheter to place a stent to open up blood vessels that may have been narrowed by plaque buildup.

PCI is performed by board certified interventional cardiologists with a highly trained cath lab team of nurses, cardiovascular and radiology technicians who are available 24/7. The national goal for patient presentation to the hospital (door) to intervention (device)—meaning opening of the blocked artery—is 90 minutes. CHI Franciscan has a system goal of less than 60 min and the average of all CHI Franciscan hospitals is below this 60-minute goal. This means that our patients are consistently receiving fast, appropriate care which significantly improves their chances for a good outcome.

CHI Franciscan Health is an Accredited Heart Failure System

CHI Franciscan Health holds the distinction of being the first Accredited System for Heart Failure in the Northwest by the Battelle Healthcare Colloquium.

In 2014, St. Joseph Medical Center earned recognition as an Accredited Heart Failure Institute. St. Elizabeth Hospital, St. Francis Hospital, St. Clare Hospital, St. Anthony Hospital, Harrison Medical Center and Highline Medical Center became Accredited Heart Failure Centers. In 2015, Highline Medical Center earned it’s recognition as an Accredited Heart Failure Center.

The accreditation comes from The Healthcare Colloquium, a hospital membership organization owned by Battelle, whose representatives make their announcement following a week-long, extensive, all-sites visit.

This award is important to our patients and their families because it recognizes our dedication to comprehensive, patient-centered heart care, physician and patient education and excellent outcomes throughout South Puget Sound.

Learn more about heart failure care at CHI Franciscan Health.

The Joint Commission recognizes Harrison Medical Center for quality care

The Joint Commission named Harrison Medical Center a Top Performer on Key Quality Measures specifically for its quality measures related to heart attack, heart failure, pneumonia and surgical care. This designation demonstrates Harrison’s continuing commitment to accountability and using proven practices that improve patient care.

Blue Distinction® Center for cardiac care

St. Joseph Medical Center bears the Blue Distinction® Center for Cardiac Care designation from Premera Blue Cross. Blue Distinction Centers are hospitals shown to deliver quality specialty care based on objective, transparent measures for patient safety and health outcomes.

To receive this designation, a hospital must demonstrate:

  • Success in meeting both general quality and safety criteria (such as preventing hospital-acquired infections)
  • Cardiac-specific quality measures of cardiac surgical and nonsurgical procedures (such as cardiac stent placement)

Get With The Guidelines® Stroke: Silver Plus Quality Achievement Award 2013 and 2014

Get With The Guidelines Stroke is a program that helps hospitals follow the most recent American Heart Association/American Stroke Association scientific guidelines for patient treatment. Harrison Medical Center began voluntary participation in January 2010 to continuously improve treatment outcomes for stroke patients. Our commitment and success sets a higher standard, ensuring you receive exceptional care right here in your own community.

Beacon Award for Excellence

Harrison Medical Center’s ICU was honored as a recipient of the silver-level Beacon Award for Excellence! This national, three-year designation from the American Association of Critical Care Nurses (AACN) reflects the exceptional level of care and the healthy work environment in the ICU. Out of 6,000 ICUs in the United States, 197 have received Beacon designations. Only eight Beacon Awards have been bestowed to units in Washington.