Know Your Number

Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) is classified into five different stages. Each stage is defined by your Glomerular Filtration Rate (GFR). The GFR is a math formula calculated by using a person’s serum creatinine which is obtained through a blood test, age and gender and is considered one of the best ways to measure kidney function. If you have any risk factors for CKD, it is important to ask your doctor what your GFR is. The earlier kidney disease is detected, the better chance you have of slowing or stopping its progression.

Five stages of CKD



Kidney Function



Kidney damage with normal or higher kidney function



Kidney damage with mild decrease in kidney function



Moderate decrease in kidney function



Severe decrease in kidney function



Kidney failure

Other important numbers to know

  • blood pressure: ask your doctor what your blood pressure should be, good blood pressure control can slow down the progression of kidney disease
  • blood sugars: if you have diabetes, check your blood sugars daily
    • ask your doctor for an A1C, which is a blood test showing your average blood sugar over the last 2-3 months; good blood sugar control is important to help slow the progression of CKD
  • urine protein: a urine test can detect protein in the urine, persistent protein in the urine is an early sign of CKD